Originally published December 27, 2017. last updated June 4, 2019

Staying apprised of changes in minimum wage rates includes not only making adjustments in your payroll processing, but also ensuring you update your labor law postings to display the new rate.  While a number of states will maintain their current rates and/or the Federal Minimum Wage rate, a number of states are making some significant changes.  Below is a list of the minimum wages by state in 2018, with notes of the date of any applicable increases (if applicable).

Federal Minimum Wage

$7.25 per hour

State By State

 

STATE

RATE (EFFECTIVE DATE)

COMMENTS
Alabama

$7.25/hr

No Change - Federal Minimum Wage
Alaska

$9.89/hr (1/1/19)

 
Arizona

$11.00/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

 
Arkansas $9.25/hr (1/1/19)  
California - Employers with 26 or more employees

$12.00/hr (1/1/19)

$13.00/hr (1/1/20)

$14.00/hr (1/1/21)

$15.00/hr (1/1/22)

* Local laws may change wage requirements

California - Employers with 25 or less employees

$11.00/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

$13.00/hr (1/1/21)

$14.00/hr (1/1/22)

$15.00/hr (1/1/23)

* Local laws may change wage requirements
Colorado

$11.10/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

 
Connecticut $10.10/hr No Change
Delaware $8.75/hr (1/1/19)  
District of Columbia

$13.25/hr (7/1/18)

$14.00/hr (7/1/19)

$15.00/hr (7/1/20)

 
Florida $8.46/hr (1/1/19)  
Georgia $7.25/hr State minimum wage is $5.15/hr; however, Federal Minimum Wage is higher, so state must use Federal rate.
Hawaii $10.10/hr (1/1/18) No Change
Idaho $7.25/hr No Change
Illinois - Chicago

$13.00/hr (1/1/19)

 
Illinois - Outside of Chicago $8.25/hr No Change
Indiana $7.25/hr No Change
Iowa $7.25/hr No Change
Kansas $7.25/hr No Change
Kentucky $7.25/hr No Change
Louisiana $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage
Maine

$11.00/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

*Local laws may change wage requirements
Maryland $10.10/hr (7/1/18) *Local laws may change wage requirements
Massachusetts $12.00/hr (1/1/19)  
Michigan

$9.45/hr (3/29/19)

$9.65/hr (1/1/20)

$9.87/hr (1/1/21)

$10.10/hr (1/1/22)

$10.33/hr (1/1/23)

$10.56/hr (1/1/24)

$10.80/hr (1/1/25)

$11.04/hr (1/1/26)

$11.29/hr (1/1/27)

$11.54/hr (1/1/28)

$11.79/hr (1/1/29)

$12.05/hr (1/1/30)

 
Minnesota - Large Employer ($500K or more in annual gross revenue) $9.86/hr (1/1/19)  
Minnesota - Small Employer (less than $500K in annual gross revenue) $8.04/hr (1/1/19)  
Mississippi $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage
Missouri $8.60/hr (1/1/19)  
Montana $8.50/hr (1/1/19)  
Nebraska $9.00/hr No Change
Nevada $8.25/hr No Change
New Hampshire $7.25/hr No Change
New Jersey $8.85/hr (1/1/19)  
New Mexico

$7.50/hr

$9.00/hr (1/1/20)

$10.50/hr (1/1/21)

$11.50/hr (1/1/22)

$12.00/hr (1/1/23)

Albuquerque - $8.20/hr if employer provides healthcare and/or childcare and pays up to $2,500 annually for these programs. $9.20/hr if these benefits are not provided. (1/1/19)

Bernalillo County - $9.05/hr (1/1/19)

Las Cruces - $10.10/hr (1/1/19)

Santa Fe - $11.80/hr (3/1/19)

New York - Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester Counties

$12.00/hr (12/31/18)

*Local laws may change wage requirements
New York - Fast Food Outside of NYC

$12.75/hr (12/31/18)

*Local laws may change wage requirements
New York - Remainder of State

$11.10/hr (12/31/18)

*Local laws may change wage requirements
NYC - Businesses with 10 or fewer employees $13.50/hr (12/31/18)  
NYC - Businesses with 10 or more employees $15.00/hr (12/31/18)  
North Carolina $7.25/hr No Change
North Dakota $7.25/hr No Change
Ohio - ($314K or more in gross receipts) $8.55/hr (1/1/19)  
Ohio - (less than $314K in gross receipts) $7.25/hr (1/1/19 -no wage change, increase gross receipts minimum)  
Oklahoma $7.25/hr No Change
Oregon - Portland Metro Area

$12.00/hr (7/1/18)

$12.50/hr (7/1/19)

$13.25/hr (7/1/20)

$14.00/hr (7/1/21)

$14.75/hr (7/1/22)

 
Oregon - Urban Counties

$10.75/hr (7/1/18)

$11.25/hr (7/1/19)

$12.00/hr (7/1/20)

$12.75/hr (7/1/21)

$13.50/hr (7/1/22)

 
Oregon - Rural Counties

$10.50/hr (7/1/18)

$11.00/hr (7/1/19)

$11.50/hr (7/1/20)

$12.00/hr (7/1/21)

$12.50/hr (7/1/22)

 
Pennsylvania $7.25/hr No Change
Rhode Island

$10.50/hr (1/1/19)

 
South Carolina $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage
South Dakota $9.10/hr (1/1/19)  
Tennessee $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage
Texas $7.25/hr No Change
Utah $7.25/hr No Change
Vermont $10.78/hr (1/1/19)  
Virginia $7.25/hr No Change
Washington

$12.00/hr (1/1/19)

$13.50/hr (1/1/20)

*Local laws may change wage requirements
West Virginia $8.75/hr No Change
Wisconsin $7.25/hr No Change
Wyoming $7.25/hr State minimum wage is $5.15/hr; however, Federal Minimum Wage is higher, so state must use Federal rate.