State By State

Published on October 25, 2019.

Below is a list of minimum wages by state as well as applicable overtime laws. It should be noted that many state permit employers to take a Tip Credit and pay below the minimum wage at a specified rate, so long as that rate does not fall below the minimum wage when tips are accounted. Other special wage allowances such as training wages may also apply.

Disclaimer: This reference page was compiled for general information purposes only and does not constitute legal, tax or other financial advice for an individual or specific company.  Each individual’s and entity’s specific legal, tax and/or financial circumstance can vary greatly due to office locations, employee classifications, etc. and may affect how employers need to comply with federal and state wage and hour laws. As such, we advise consulting with your attorney, CPA and/or other professional advisors to ensure you are following and complying with all necessary guidance and regulations based on your specific circumstances.

 

STATE

RATE (EFFECTIVE DATE)

WAGE RATE COMMENTS DAILY OVERTIME RULE WEEKLY OVERTIME RULE Overtime Comments
Alabama

$7.25/hr

No Change - Federal Minimum Wage N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Alaska

$9.89/hr (1/1/19)

$10.19/hr (1/1/20)

Adjusted annually using the CPI for urban consumers in the Anchorage metropolitan area (Anchorage CPI-U) for the preceding calendar year. After 8 hours. After 40 hours.

1.5 x hourly wage rate.

 Arizona

$11.00/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

  N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Arkansas

$9.25/hr (1/1/19)

$10.00/hr (1/1/20)

$11.00/hr (1/1/21)

 Minimum Wage increase voted November 2018. N/A After 40 hours. Applies to employers with 4 or more employees.  1.5 x hourly wage rate.
California - Employers with 26 or more employees

$12.00/hr (1/1/19)

$13.00/hr (1/1/20)

$14.00/hr (1/1/21)

$15.00/hr (1/1/22)

* Local laws may change wage requirements

After 8 hours and up to 12 hours at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay.

More than 12 hours at a rate of 2 x regular rate of pay.

After 40 hours at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay.

For all hours in excess of 8 hours on the 7th consecutive day in a workweek paid at a rate of 2 x regular rate of pay. 

Overtime rates and hours are different for agricultural workers. Click here to learn more.

There are also other exempted employees.  Click here to learn more.

California - Employers with 25 or less employees

$11.00/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

$13.00/hr (1/1/21)

$14.00/hr (1/1/22)

$15.00/hr (1/1/23)

* Local laws may change wage requirements

After 8 hours and up to 12 hours at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay.

More than 12 hours at a rate of 2 x regular rate of pay.

 

After 40 hours at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay.

For all hours in excess of 8 hours on the 7th consecutive day in a workweek paid at a rate of 2 x regular rate of pay. 

 

Overtime rates and hours are different for agricultural workers. Click here to learn more.

There are also other exempted employees.  Click here to learn more.

Colorado

$11.10/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

  More than 12 hours in a workday or 12 consecutive hours worked paid at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay. More than 40 hours in a work week at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay. Covers certain employers and employees for work performed within the boundaries of the state of Colorado in the following industries: (A) Retail and Service (C) Food and Beverage (B) Commercial Support Service (D) Health and Medical
Connecticut

$10.10/hr

$11.00/hr (10/1/19)

$12.00/hr (9/1/20)

$13.00/hr (8/1/21)

$14.00/hr (7/1/22)

$15.00/hr (6/1/23)

Increase per HB 5004 signed 5/28/19. Starting 10/15/23, and annually on October 15th, thereafter, the CT Labor Commission shall adjustment in the minimum fair wage effective the January 1st, immediately following. The minimum fair wage shall be adjusted by the % change in the employment cost index, or its successor index, for wages and salaries for all civilian workers, as calculated by the US DOL, over the 12-month period ending on June 30th of the preceding year, rounded to the nearest whole cent. N/A After 40 hours at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay. Exceptions: Click here to learn more.
Delaware

$8.75/hr (1/1/19)

$9.25/hr (10/1/19)

Training wage rate of (of $0.50 less than minimum - $8.25 for adult workers 18+) for the first 90 days on a new job. Effective on January 1, 2019 Delaware’s Minimum Wage implemented a Youth Rate (14-17) of $8.25 per hour. N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
District of Columbia

$14.00/hr (7/1/19)

$15.00/hr (7/1/20)

  N/A 1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours for most, if not all employees. Employers may be liable for up to 4 times the amount of any late or unpaid OT pay. 
Florida

$8.46/hr (1/1/19)

$8.56/hr (1/1/20)

Recalculated every September 30th, based on CPI.  Rate either increases slightly or stays flat. N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Georgia $7.25/hr State minimum wage is $5.15/hr; however, Federal Minimum Wage is higher, so state must use Federal rate. N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Hawaii $10.10/hr (1/1/18) No Change N/A 1.5 x regular pay rate in excess of 40 hours. No per diem OT or specific OT rate for holidays. Exception: On State or county public construction projects, OT is required after 8 hours a day, and all hours on Saturdays, Sundays, and State holidays. (Chapter 104, HRS, Wages and Hours of Employees on Public Works Law)
Idaho $7.25/hr No Change N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Illinois - Chicago

$13.00/hr (1/1/19)

Increased annually based on CPI after 2019. N/A 1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Illinois - Outside of Chicago

$8.25/hr (7/1/10)

$9.25/hr (1/1/20)

$10.00/hr (7/1/20)

$11.00/hr (1/1/21)

$12.00/hr (1/1/22)

$13.00/hr (1/1/23)

$14.00/hr (1/1/24)

$15.00/hr (1/1/25)

Employees who DO NOT receive tips, may be paid $7.75/hr for the first 90 days of employment and youth workers under 18 may be paid $7.75/hr.  N/A 1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek. Employees should ask their employer for a their definition of a workweek.
Indiana $7.25/hr Training wage of $4.25/hr permitted for employees under 20 years old for their first 90 days of employment. N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours. There are some exceptions to overtime, found here: Code § 22-2-2-3 (a) – (p)
Iowa $7.25/hr No Change N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Kansas $7.25/hr No Change N/A Employees not covered by the FLSA must be paid at a rate of 1.5 x regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 46 hours in a workweek. Determining factors for when State vs. FLSA requirements apply are based on an employer's annual revenue and interstate commerce.
Kentucky $7.25/hr No Change N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours unless exempt  
Louisiana $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Maine

$11.00/hr (1/1/19)

$12.00/hr (1/1/20)

*Local laws may change wage requirements  N/A  1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours unless exempt. Employees in Maine must receive a salary of at least $33,000/yr to be exempt. 
Maryland $10.10/hr (7/1/18) *Local laws may change wage requirements    1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a 7-day work week. There are some industries with exemptions to overtime rules: Click Here 
Massachusetts

$12.00/hr (1/1/19)

$12.75/hr (1/1/20)

$13.50/hr (1/1/21)

$14.25/hr (1/1/22)

$15.00/hr (1/1/23)

Premium pay for retail Sunday and holiday work is being phased out as follows:

1.4 x rate/hr  (1/1/19)

1.3 x rate/hr (1/1/20)

1.2 x rate/hr (1/1/21)

1.1 x rate/hr (1/1/22)

1.0 x rate/hr (1/1/23)

Service Rates:

$4.35/hr (1/1/19)

$4.95/hr (1/1/20)

$5.55/hr (1/1/21)

$6.15/hr (1/1/22)

$6.75/hr (1/1/23)

Agriculture:

$8.00/hr

N/A 1.5 x regular pay rate in excess of 40 hours Premium pay for retail under Massachusetts Blue Laws are being phased out as per schedule in column 3.
Michigan

$9.45/hr (3/29/19)

$9.65/hr (1/1/20)

$9.87/hr (1/1/21)

$10.10/hr (1/1/22)

$10.33/hr (1/1/23)

$10.56/hr (1/1/24)

$10.80/hr (1/1/25)

$11.04/hr (1/1/26)

$11.29/hr (1/1/27)

$11.54/hr (1/1/28)

$11.79/hr (1/1/29)

$12.05/hr (1/1/30)

An employer may pay a new employee who is less than 20 years of age a training hourly wage of $4.25 for the first 90 days of that employee’s employment. The minimum hourly wage for an employee who is less than 18 years of age is 85% of the general minimum hourly wage.
N/A 1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek. There are some exceptions to overtime: Click Here
Minnesota - Large Employer ($500K or more in annual gross revenue)

$9.86/hr (1/1/19)

$10.00/hr (1/1/20)

Training wage of $8.15/hr may be paid to employees under age 20 for the first 90 days of employment.  $8.15/hr may be paid to youth employees under 18. N/A Unless covered under FLSA, 1.5 x regular pay rate in excess of 48 hours per workweek.  
Minnesota - Small Employer (less than $500K in annual gross revenue)

$8.04/hr (1/1/19)

$8.15/hr (1/1/20)

  N/A Unless covered under FLSA, 1.5 x regular pay rate in excess of 48 hours per workweek.  
Mississippi $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Missouri

$8.60/hr (1/1/19)

$9.45/hr (1/1/20)

$10.30/hr (1/1/21)

$11.15/hr (1/1/22)

$12.00/hr (1/1/23)

All private businesses are required to pay at minimum, the set hourly rate, except retail and service businesses whose annual gross sales are less than $500,000. N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Montana

$8.50/hr (1/1/19)

$8.65/hr (1/1/20)

Subject to annual COL increases based on CPI determined no later than September 30th. N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.

Student employees of seasonal amusement or recreational areas (who are furnished board and room) must receive one-and-one-half time (1.5 x) their regular rate of pay for all hours worked in excess of 48 in any work week.

Overtime pay provisions do not apply for farm workers under Montana statute. They can be paid the state minimum wage per hour or paid on a monthly basis of $635.

Nebraska $9.00/hr No Change N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Nevada

Without qualified health insurance:

$8.25/hr

$9.00/hr (1/1/20)

$9.75/hr (1/1/21)

$10.50/hr (1/1/22)

$11.25/hr (1/1/23)

$12.00/hr (1/1/24)

 

With qualified health insurance:

$7.25/hr

$8.00/hr (1/1/20)

$8.75/hr (1/1/21)

$9.50/hr (1/1/22)

$10.25/hr (1/1/23)

$11.00/hr (1/1/24)

 

Assembly Bill 456 signed 6/12/19. Employees making less than 1.5 x the current minimum wage ($12.375/$10.875) per hour, would be paid overtime for time worked over 8 hours in a 24-hour period.   If and employee makes more than 1.5 x the current minimum wage, the employee would be paid overtime for time worked over 40 hours in a week.   The only exception is if an employee agrees to work 4, 10 hour shifts.  However, any deviations from the 4-10 rule could cause overtime to accrue
New Hampshire $7.25/hr No Change N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
New Jersey

$10.00/hr (7/1/19)

$11.00/hr (1/1/20)

$12.00/hr (1/1/21)

$13.00/hr (1/1/22)

$14.00/hr (1/1/23)

$15.00/hr (1/1/24)

TBD (1/1/25)

TBD (1/1/26)

TBD (1/1/27)

Certain places are not required to pay minimum wage. Some examples are nursing homes, boardwalk and other seasonal amusements, summer camps, professional offices, and libraries. However, jobs related to food service in any of those places must pay the minimum wage. For example, an office worker in a nursing home can be paid less than the minimum wage, however, a dining room waitress in the nursing home must be paid minimum wage.

Minimum wage for small employers, seasonal, agriculture and service can be viewed HERE.

N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek. Minors may not work more than 40 hours in a workweek.
New Mexico

$7.50/hr

$9.00/hr (1/1/20)

$10.50/hr (1/1/21)

$11.50/hr (1/1/22)

$12.00/hr (1/1/23)

Albuquerque - $8.20/hr if employer provides healthcare and/or childcare and pays up to $2,500 annually for these programs. $9.20/hr if these benefits are not provided. (1/1/19)

Bernalillo County - $9.05/hr (1/1/19)

Las Cruces - $10.10/hr (1/1/19)

Santa Fe - $11.80/hr (3/1/19)

N/A 

 1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.

Employees are prohibited from working more than 16 hours in a day, except in emergencies. 

New York - Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester Counties

$12.00/hr (12/31/18)

*Local laws may change wage requirements  N/A  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek. Certain residential employees are after 44 hours. For a list of exempt employees, CLICK HERE.
New York - Fast Food Outside of NYC

$12.75/hr (12/31/18)

*Local laws may change wage requirements  N/A  SAME AS ABOVE  SAME AS ABOVE
New York - Remainder of State

$11.10/hr (12/31/18)

*Local laws may change wage requirements  N/A  SAME AS ABOVE  SAME AS ABOVE
NYC - Businesses with 10 or fewer employees $13.50/hr (12/31/18)   N/A SAME AS ABOVE SAME AS ABOVE
NYC - Businesses with 10 or more employees $15.00/hr (12/31/18)   N/A SAME AS ABOVE SAME AS ABOVE
North Carolina $7.25/hr No Change N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
North Dakota $7.25/hr No Change N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a 7-day workweek.  
Ohio - ($314K or more in gross receipts)

$8.55/hr (1/1/19)

$8.70/hr (1/1/20)

  N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Ohio - (less than $314K in gross receipts - increases to $319k on 1/1/20) $7.25/hr (1/1/19 -no wage change, increase gross receipts minimum)   N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Oklahoma $7.25/hr No Change N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  For employees not covered by FLSA, employers may offer comp time instead of overtime pay.
Oregon - Portland Metro Area

$12.50/hr (7/1/19)

$13.25/hr (7/1/20)

$14.00/hr (7/1/21)

$14.75/hr (7/1/22)

  N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek  
Oregon - Urban Counties

$11.25/hr (7/1/19)

$12.00/hr (7/1/20)

$12.75/hr (7/1/21)

$13.50/hr (7/1/22)

  N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek  
Oregon - Rural Counties

$10.50/hr (7/1/18)

$11.00/hr (7/1/19)

$11.50/hr (7/1/20)

$12.00/hr (7/1/21)

$12.50/hr (7/1/22)

  N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek  
Pennsylvania $7.25/hr No Change N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek  
Rhode Island

$10.50/hr (1/1/19)

    1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek Premium pay of 1.5 x regular rate of pay for Sundays and holidays with some exceptions. For more details and exceptions: CLICK HERE
South Carolina $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
South Dakota $9.10/hr (1/1/19) Subject to annual COL increase based on CPI, to be rounded to nearest $0.05/hr) to be announced no later than October 15th. N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Tennessee $7.25/hr No Change - Federal Minimum Wage N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Texas $7.25/hr No Change N/A At least 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Utah $7.25/hr No Change N/A At least 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Vermont $10.78/hr (1/1/19) Subject to increases annually on January 1, based on the increase in the national Consumer Price Index. N/A At least 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Virginia $7.25/hr No Change N/A N/A Follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.
Washington

$12.00/hr (1/1/19)

$13.50/hr (1/1/20)

*Local laws may change wage requirements    1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek  There are some exceptions to overtime and employers are also permitted to offer "comp time" instead of overtime pay. For more details: CLICK HERE
West Virginia $8.75/hr No Change N/A Employers of 6 or more employees, must pay 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek.  
Wisconsin $7.25/hr No Change N/A 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek  
Wyoming $7.25/hr State minimum wage is $5.15/hr; however, Federal Minimum Wage is higher, so state must use Federal rate. N/A  State and county employees and those working on public works contracts shall receive 1.5 x regular rate of pay after 40 hours in a workweek. For all other employees, follows Federal FLSA.  1.5 x regular pay rate after 40 hours in a workweek.